Tuesday, Jan 21 07:19am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

All-star line-up confirmed for D1NZ season opener

New Zealand's top drifters are all set to make history this weekend in Invercargill when the best of the best rev up and get sideways as part of this weekend's big BP Ultimate Motorsport weekend at Teretonga Park.


Top gun 'Fanga' Dan Woolhouse heads the entry list for the first round of the Valvoline D1NZ National Drifting Championship. He'll pilot his Ford NZ Century Batteries Mustang while Jaron Olivecrona will be in action with his new Parts Trader NZ Hartley Engines-built twin-turbocharged V12 Nissan Silvia S14.


Mimico driver Adam Davies is all set to go in a new 20B-powered Nissan 180SX while last season’s Pro-Sport champion Michael Thorley is moving up to the Pro class in a new Enzed-backed 180SX. Aussie Jake Jones is also on the entry list, adding some international flavour to a field of around 20 top drifters.


It's the first time top-flight drifting has come to Teretonga Park and fans can look forward to an absolute feast of burnouts and mega drifts as the top drivers get their clipping points millimetre correct in their quest for points and victory in New Zealand's top domestic drifting championship.


The D1NZ National Drifting Championship will also be running as part of the country's top motorsport series for the first time with the international Castrol Toyota Racing Series, the Best Bars Toyota 86 Championship, South Island and National F1600, Porsches and historic touring cars all on a packed card that will see action right through until the drifting finals on Saturday evening.


Drifting qualifiers take place on Friday from 4.40 pm with the finals on Saturday from 4 pm. There will also be drifting demos on Friday at 11 am and at 12 pm on Saturday.


D1NZ promoter Brendon White is excited ahead of the big weekend in Invercargill.


“We have heard fantastic things about how avid and enthusiast motorsport and drifting fans are down in the South,” he said.


“It’s going to be a real privilege to show the series to the fans in Invercargill for the first time and showcase professional drifting. It's got to be seen to be believed so we are looking forward to seeing many of them rock up to the track for the action.


"There's a strong field of NZ’s pro drifters with many cars sporting new liveries and sponsorship. It's all going live on Sky Sports Channel 55 on Saturday evening and it's got to be one not to miss with the biggest prize pool ever on offer for the 2020 season." 


2020 Valvoline D1NZ National Drifting Championship, Entry List


2NZ Adam Davies Mimico - Nissan 180SX
5 Cole Armstrong Bute Line - Nissan Skyline R34
12 Jaron Olivecrona Parts Trader - Nissan Silvia S14
32 Bradley Knight GoodRide - Nissan Skyline R32
87 Jesse Greenslade NZ Girls - Nissan Silvia S15
93 Daynom Templeman Pace Pools - BMW E46 M3
94 Jake Jones Galore Parts Group - Toyota GT86
99 Kurt Blackie  NZ Flooring - Toyota GT86
123 Bruce Tannock Mag & Turbo - Nissan Sivlia S13
180 Michael Thorley  Enzed Nissan - Nissan 180SX
187 Taylor James CDT - Nissan Silvia S14
616 Daniel Woolhouse Century Batteries - Ford Mustang
666 Carl Thompson Nissan Silvia S15
777 Zak Pole  Goodride Tyres - Nissan Silvia S15
856 Troy Jenkins Toyotaz Galore - Toyota GT86
857 Ben Jenkins Toyotaz Galore - Toyota GT86
8NZ David Steedman Mimico Ryco 24/7 - Nissan Silvia S14