Tuesday, Dec 3 11:53am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber inducted into FIA Hall of Fame

The FIA has inducted Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber into their Hall of Fame in a ceremony at Automobile Club de France.


The Kiwi duo were among 29 title winners from the FIA World Endurance Championship. They join 33 champions of FIA Formula 1 World Championship and the 17 winners of the FIA World Rally Championship inducted in the previous two editions.


Hosted in the heart of Paris, the ceremony this year celebrated the efforts of world champion endurance racers from around the globe.


“Endurance racing occupies a special place in the history of motorsport as well as in my heart, and the legendary 24 hours of Le Mans is a major event on the WEC calendar,” FIA President Jean Todt said.


“Even though the discipline has evolved significantly over the years, the passion remains intact. I do look forward to the Hypercar’s arrival in September 2020 that will mark a turning point in the Championship’s life.


“It is, therefore, my greatest pleasure to inaugurate 29 FIA WEC title-winners in the FIA Hall of Fame, which is growing with a new discipline joining those that have been previously celebrated: Formula 1 and the World Rally Championship.”


Four championship-winning cars from the different eras being celebrated will be on display at the ceremony. The 1983 Porsche 956, the 1992 Peugeot 905 Evo 1 Bis, the 2013 Audi R18 e-tron Quattro and the 2018 Toyota TS050 Hybrid.


The presentation began by celebrating Bob Garretson of the USA. In 1981 he won the FIA World Endurance Championship with Lancia. As such, he was first to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.


The late Stefan Bellof, who won the title in 1984 with Porsche, was represented by his brother Georg on the stage. The next driver was Germany’s Hans-Joachim Stuck, who won the title in 1985 alongside Britain’s Derek Bell for Porsche.


Icons of the sport including Martin Brundle, Derek Warwick, Jacky Ickx and Derek Bell were among the inductees.


More recent success stories like Marcel Fässler, Benôit Tréluyer, André Lotterer, Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen, Sébastien Buemi, Anthony Davison, Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso were also inducted.


Kiwi duo Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber were World Endurance Championship winners together in 2017. Hartley also claimed the title in 2015 with Webber and Bernhard for Porsche.


The Champions recognised at the ceremony were:

  • Bob Garretson (1981)
  • Jacky Ickx (1982, 1983)
  • Stefan Bellof (1984)
  • Derek Bell (1985, 1986)
  • Hans-Joachim Stuck (1985)
  • Raul Boesel (1987)
  • Martin Brundle (1988)
  • Jean-Louis Schlesser (1989, 1990)
  • Mauro Baldi (1990)
  • Teo Fabi (1991)
  • Yannick Dalmas (1992)
  • Derek Warwick (1992)
  • André Lotterer (2012)
  • Marcel Fässler (2012)
  • Benôit Tréluyer (2012)
  • Allan McNish (2013)
  • Loïc Duval (2013)
  • Tom Kristensen (2013)
  • Anthony Davidson (2014)
  • Sébastien Buemi (2014, 2018-19)
  • Brendon Hartley (2015, 2017)
  • Mark Webber (2015)
  • Timo Bernhard (2015, 2017)
  • Marc Lieb (2016)
  • Neel Jani (2016)
  • Roman Dumas (2016)
  • Earl Bamber (2017)
  • Kazuki Nakajima (2018-19)
  • Fernando Alonso (2018-19)