Thursday, Jan 11 08:19pm
AUTHOR: Matthew Hansen

Brendon Hartley named as Halberg Awards Sportsman of the Year finalist

Brendon Hartley has been selected as one of the top four finalists in the Halberg Awards Sportsman of the Year category.


After being named in the initial announcement, Hartley has made it to the next stage of the Halberg Awards process. He's also still elligable for the supreme Halberg Award.


The other three finalists in the Sportsman of the Year category are Tom Walsh (shot put), Ross Taylor (cricket), and Beauden Barrett (rugby).


Golfer Lydia Ko, Olympic gold medalist Lisa Carrington, and Team New Zealand are among the other athletes and teams to make the final group. The full list of finalists can be viewed below.


Hartley's 2017 included a maiden victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and a second World Endurance Championship title — both crowns coming with Porsche and with Kiwi co-driver Earl Bamber, as well as German co-driver Timo Bernhard. 


While the year saw him claim two of motorsport's biggest international crowns, Hartley's signing with Formula 1 team Scuderia Toro Rosso was arguably his most lauded achievement. The 28-year-old's F1 debut at the Circuit of the Americas was the first time a New Zealander had raced in the premier series since 1984.  


The winners across all categories will be announced on February 8.


Photo: Porsche

Halberg Awards Finalists:

Sportsman of the year: Tom Walsh (athletics), Ross Taylor (cricket), Brendan Hartley (motor sport), Beauden Barrett (rugby).

Sportswoman of the year: Lydia Ko (golf), Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Portia Woodman (rugby), Sarah Goss (rugby).

Sports team of the year: Team New Zealand (yachting), Black Ferns (rugby), Black Sox (softball), women's K2 canoe (Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Ryan).

Disabled sportsperson of the year: Corey Peters (para alpine skiing), Holly Robinson (para athletics), Sophie Pascoe (para swimming), William Stedman (para athletics).

Coach of the year: Gary Hay (rowing), Gordopn Walker (canoe racing), Glenn Moore (rugby), Mark Sorenson (softball).

Also Emerging Talent fianlists: Ellesse Andrews (cycling), Josh Armit (yachting), Matthew MacDonald (rowing), Nico Porteous (freeskiing).