Friday, May 18 11:57am
AUTHOR: Supplied/Ross MacKay

Daniel Bray jets back in for latest ProKart Series round

Fresh from finishing eighth at the first round of this year’s CIK-FIA European KZ2 Championship in France a fortnight ago Auckland kart international Daniel Bray heads the entry list for the Lascom Motorsport KZ2 class at the third round of the 2018 Molecule ProKart Series at Rotorua this weekend.


After the first two rounds of the annual 125cc/6-speed gearbox KZ2 class-based Molecule-backed series Bray has a one point lead over recently-crowned KZ2 class NZ National Sprint champion Mat Kinsman with young guns Madeline Stewart and Matt Payne tied for third place just two points behind. So Bray couldn’t afford to dally on the way home from France.


Adding further spice to the Lascom Motorsport KZ2 class field this weekend is the entry of one of the country’s other front-running female karters, Tiffany Hamilton (nee Chittenden) from Christchurch.


At the Giltrap Group 2018 KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships at the KartSport Rotorua Club’s Century Batteries International Raceway over the Easter weekend Madeline

Stewart finished second to Mat Kinsman in the KZ2 class, and Tiffany Hamilton finished second to Kinsman in Rotax DD2.


It was 16-year-old Aucklander Matt Payne who won the KZ2 Final at the  most recent round of the Molecule series at Tokoroa, however, so it will be he who Bray, Kinsman, Stewart, Hamilton et al will be most wary of this weekend.


There was a winning return, meanwhile, for former class title holder, Jared MacKenzie, in the combined Lascom Motorsport KZ2 Masters/ KZ4 class races at Tokoroa, the Auckland ace claiming the only

Top 10 Shootout/Heats/Pre-Final clean-sweep of the weekend in the Lascom Motorsport KZ2 Masters class.


That said Rnd 1 class winner (and series promotor) Steve Brown retains his Masters’ class series’ points lead from Andrew Hunt and Enrico van der Griend.


Regan Hall now has a healthy points lead in Lascom Motorsport KZ4 after claiming class honours at both the first and second rounds. Multi-time former class winner Garry Cullum put in a strong challenge at Tokoroa – winning two of the three heats as well as the Pre-Final only to be an early dnf in the Final thanks to a gearbox issue.


With Cullum sidelined Hall went on to win the class Final from Jamie Pollock and Aaron Woolley to further extend his class series’ points lead over Cullum, Pollock and Gerhard Benadie.


A popular addition at the Tokoroa round in the 2018 Molecule ProKart Series was a Supercars-style Top Ten Shootout to establish the first 10 grid positions in each class. A Shootout will again feature on the programme this weekend.