Wednesday, Jul 10 12:03pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Shane van Gisbergen confirmed for WTAC Drifting Cup return

Racing all rounder Shane van Gisbergen will contest this year’s Garrett International Drifting Cup as for Team MCA Suspension.


The event forms part of Yokohama World Time Attack Challenge at Sydney Motorsport Park.


Once again the Red Bull Holden Racing Team regular will pilot the VK56-powered Nissan 370Z, the same car he piloted briefly in the D1NZ National Drifting Championship last year.


With van Gisbergen’s return comes confirmation the car will receive some upgrades to keep up with the constantly evolving drifting scene.


“Shane has absolutely incredible car control,” MCA Suspensions Team Principal Murray Coote said.


“His skill level allows us to really push the envelope with the mechanical setup. He really is one of the best I have ever seen, and it’s an absolute pleasure to have him back with us.


“We had been looking fitting a supercharger, but with the move to the much more technical SMSP South Circuit, we have made the decision to focus on chassis setup.


“We now have much greater lock thanks to the latest Wisefab kit, too. Shane has been on fire lately, so we come into this year’s competition pretty confident.


“We are certainly not here to make up the numbers and will be pushing hard for the win.”


Team MCA Suspension have been regulars at the event, whether it be in the Time Attack or Drifting ranks.


It is expected Josh Coote, son of Murray, will also compete in the Open Class in a Nissan VR38DETT-powered Toyota 86. The formidable ‘Hammerhead’ Nissan Silvia S13 is expected to feature again too with a yet-to-be-confirmed driver.


“MCA have always been a force at WTAC and it’s so good to see SVG back in the drift car,” event organisers Ian Baker said. “I know this is something he really enjoys doing and he is so damn good at it.


“They haven’t announced who’s driving the Pro Class car yet, but when I asked Murray about this he replied, ‘You will have to wait and see, but we once again will be pushing to take back the outright crown,’ and judging by the Hammerhead’s previous driver lineup, whoever it is will be at the top of their game!”


D1GP champion Masahi Yokoi and Naoki Nakamura both of Japan have so far been confirmed for this year’s International Drifting Cup.


Yokohama World Time Attack Challenge takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park over 18-19 October.