Formula 1
Saturday, Aug 31 02:55pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Sergio Pérez sticks with Racing Point until 2022

SportPesa Racing Point have confirmed Sergio Pérez of Mexico will stay with the team until 2022 in the Formula 1 World Championship.


The Silverstone-based team follow Mercedes and Renault this week in confirming their full driver line-up for next season.


Pérez will continue to race alongside former Castrol Toyota Racing Series champion Lance Stroll in an unchanged line-up for 2020.


“I’m very excited to extend my partnership with the team for the next three years,” Pérez said.


“I’ve been working together with this group of people for a long time now and they have become my second family.


“Together we have enjoyed a tremendous amount of success and we share the same passion for racing.


“I have been impressed with the direction the team has taken over the last twelve months and that gives me confidence for the future.


“I believe the best times are still to come and I look forward to celebrating plenty of podiums in the years ahead.”


Next year will mark the 10th season for Pérez in the championship. In that time he’s driven for Sauber and McLaren, but has has the most success with Racing Point (formerly Force India). Perez has eight podiums in total, five of those with Racing Point.


CEO and Team Principal Otmar Szafnauer said he’s looking forward to having the 29-year-old staying with them for the foreseeable future.


“We know Sergio very well and it’s great to confirm him on a long-term deal,” he said.


“Over the last six years we have seen him become a very complete driver with excellent qualifying speed and exceptional race craft.


“Sergio believes in the long-term vision of this project and getting his commitment until the end of 2022 gives us valuable consistency going forward.


“As the team continues to grow and develop it’s important to have a driver with Sergio’s level of experience, especially with new regulations on the horizon.


“The whole team is thrilled to continue working with Sergio and I believe we can enjoy great success together in the coming years.”


2020 Formula 1 World Championship entry list


Team Drivers
Alfa Romeo Racing Finland Kimi Räikkönen
Ferrari Germany Sebastian Vettel
Monaco Charles Leclerc
Haas F1 Team Denmark Kevin Magnussen
McLaren F1 Team United Kingdom Lando Norris
Spain Carlos Sainz Jr.
Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport  United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton
Finland Valtteri Bottas
SportPesa Racing Point Mexico Sergio Pérez
Canada Lance Stroll
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing Netherlands Max Verstappen
Renault F1 Team Australia Daniel Ricciardo
France Esteban Ocon
Renault F1 Team  TBA
ROKiT Williams Racing United Kingdom George Russell