Saturday, Feb 15 03:41pm
AUTHOR: Zane Shackleton

Heimgartner wins BNT V8s Race 1

Andre Heimgartner has stormed to victory in race one of the BNT V8’s from Circuit Chris Amon in Manfeild.

The 14-lap affair was dominated by the Hamilton Motorsport’s Commodore who converted his pole position into the early lead, out dragging the Nissan Altima of Nick Ross.

Alexandra Whitley found herself tangled in a tense scrap over the final podium spot during the early stages of the race.

The #6 Toyota Camry attempted a bold move around the outside of Lance Hughes at turn one, before running out of road and off into the barriers.

The accident duly brought out the safety car, bunching up the field once again.

Fortunately for Whitley, the recovery crew were quickly able to drag the Camry from its troubles and would re-join at the rear of the grid, albeit a few laps down.

Heimgartner suffered a slight scare off the restart, 9 laps from the end, when Ross got the jump on the Commodore.

The BNT V8 veteran threatened to steal Heimgartner’s lead at turn one but ultimately settled for second.

Unfortunately, Nick Ross then fell into the clutches of Hughes before the fearsome Mustang of Sam Collins quickly followed suit.

With four laps to run, Ross found himself down in fifth after Blair McDonald was the next man past the Altima.

Sam Collins made light work of Hughes but soon realised that Heimgartner was too far down the road to be challenged.

16-year-old Brayden Phillips then suffered a high-speed spin at the circuit’s penultimate corner with only a handful of laps left, burying himself into the kitty litter and out of contention.

Phillips wouldn’t be alone for too long when Ross’ horrid race continues as he spun at the same corner on the final lap.

Heimgartner took the chequered flag ahead of Collins. The Mustang recording the race’s fastest lap with a 1.09.329. Lance Hughes rounding off the overall podium.

1. Andre Heimgartner
2. Sam Collins
3. Lance Hughes
4. Blair McDonald
5. Brad Lathrope
6. Robert Wallace
7. Nick Ross
8. Brock Timperley
9. Justin Mcllory
10. Alexandra Whitley
11. Brayden Phillips
12. Shane Whitley
13. Ken Hunter