Wednesday, May 15 11:00am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Holden rebadge for Kelly Racing in TCR Australia

Alex Rullo and Chelsea Angelo will run Holden badges on their Astra TCR cars to align with the local market.


Kelly Racing imported two Opel Astra TCR cars for the inaugural TCR Australia Series and rumours quickly circulated about a branding shift. The cars will be supported by AHG and McGrath Holden.


The announcement of the rebadge also coincides with the news that Rullo’s car will be backed by Castrol, and the reveal of his livery for the season.


“It’s really exciting to have Castrol on board,” Rullo said.


“It has a long history in motorsport and with Kelly Racing so to see its iconic brand on my Astra is really motivating heading into the TCR Australia Series.


“The car looks fantastic. The Castrol livery is so iconic you can’t really go wrong. And now that we’ve rebadged the car as a Holden thanks to AHG and McGrath Holden, I think the fans are really going to love it.”


Uploaded Image


Kelly Racing are conducting pre-season testing at Winton Motor Raceway on Tuesday before the season opener at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.


“Today we have a test day today at Winton Raceway as a final shakedown for the car and for me to get to know it a bit better and get used to driving front-wheel drive with the steering wheel on the left. 


“I’m looking forward to pushing the car and then heading into first practice at Sydney Motorsport Park on Friday.”


So far there are 16 drivers confirmed for the season opener. 


2019 TCR Australia Series Provisional Entry  


Team Car No. Driver
Matt Stone Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR 4 Australia Alexandra Whitley
8 Australia Jason Bright
Kelly Racing Subaru WRX STI TCR 6 Australia Molly Taylor
77 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Opel Astra TCR 37 Australia Chelsea Angelo
62 Australia Alex Rullo
Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 9 Australia Jimmy Vernon
Renault Mégane R.S TCR 33 New Zealand Chris Pither
34 Australia James Moffat
HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 11 Australia Nathan Morcom
30 Australia Will Brown
Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS 3 LMS TCR 22 Netherlands Rik Breukers
Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR  24 Australia John Martin
50 Australia Tony D'Alberto
Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 9 Australia Dylan O'Keeffe
Garth Walden Racing Australia Hyundai i30 N TCR TBA Australia Michael Almond