Richard Moore secures second NZ V8 Ute championship win in a row

After finishing fifth in the final race of the season, Richard Moore has provisionally scored his second consecutive PORTERGROUP V8 Utes Series title win. 


Starting from fourth, Moore had to stay out of trouble to secure the crown; and he largely did so as his key championship rival Paul Manuell took the race win over Peter Ward and Matt Spratt. The race ended prematurely, after a crash with two laps to go for Andrew Porter on the run to the final corner. 


Maunell and Ward led the race off the start, but it would only take one corner for a safety car to interrupt the race. This time it was for the spun FG Falcon of Simon Ussher, who had been turned following contact with Jeff Kernohan (the latter inheriting a penalty later on). 


The race restarted on lap three; Manuell and Porter leading race-two winner Chis Hanley and Moore. But much like in race two, Matt Spratt would emerge as the wildcard for the leaders. 


He quickly dispatched Hanley and Moore to pop into third behind Ward; Manuell having built a comfortable gap over the five-car battle for second place. 


Spratt's pass on Moore in particular was an eager moment, with Moore having run wide at Ford Mountain with two wheels in the grass. 


But as a good pair of battles were emerging in the top five, an incident involving Andrew Porter at the final corner prompted a red-flag. It was close enough to the end of the race that the 12-lapper would finish under red flags and chequered flags simultaneously. 


This left Manuell to take victory in a race he dominated from the start. Ward was able to retain second after being under heavy pressure from Spratt in the final laps. Hanley and Moore completed the top five; enough for Moore to take the title. 


Alexandra Whitley, Geoff Spencer, Dave Kernohan, Jason Land, and Simon Ussher completed the top 10.