Thursday, Aug 9 11:49am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Chris Pither confirms co-drive with Garth Tander

Dunlop Super2 Series driver Chris Pither will join Garth Tander in this year’s PIRTEK Enduro Cup.


The pair will drive the no.33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Commodore ZB. It’ll be the first time they’ll drive together, but the second occasion Pither has driven for Rogers in the endurance season.


Richard Muscat will line up in the second Garry Rogers Motorsport car with young gun James Golding.


Pither has fluttered between teams since making his endurance debut in 2007 with Paul Morris Motorsport. The last time Pither drove for Rogers was in 2015 with David Wall in the Volvo S60.


Tander, the 2007 Virgin Australia Supecars Champion, said he’s looking forward to having Pither on-board for the three-round season of endurance, which starts at the Sandown 500 in September.


“Obviously he's doing a great job in Super2, we've been giving him as many miles in my car as we can within the availability he can do it.


“From a logistical and practical point of view he fits straight into my seat as well. From all of that it's good, and he's had good speed this year.


“Being an ex-pole position earner in the main game, we know he's got speed, so there's no concern there. It should hopefully be a good combination.”


Pither currently lies second in the Super2 Series on his return to the championship with Garry Rogers Motorsport. The 31-year-old sits 136 points adrift of championship leader Paul Dumbrell, who will once again join Jamie Whincup at Red Bull Holden Racing Team in this year’s Enduro Cup.


This year’s PIRTEK Enduro Cup will see seven New Zealanders racing.


Shane van Gisbergen and Earl Bamber will be the only all-Kiwi line-up in this year’s endurance season.


Scott McLaughlin will be joined by Frenchman Alex Premat this season. McLaughlin’s teammate Fabian Coulthard will be joined by long-time co-driver Tony D’Alberto.


Tickford Racing driver Richie Stanaway will be joined by twice Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 runner up Steve Owen. Meanwhile Andre Heimgartner will be paired with Aaren Russell.


2018 PIRTEK Enduro Cup grid: 

Car No. Team Driver Co-driver
1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell
2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Warren Luff
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Dean Canto
6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters David Russell
7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Aaren Russell
8 Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat Macauley Jones
9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Luke Youlden
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Tony D'Alberto
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Ash Walsh
15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Garry Jacobson
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Alexandre Prémat
18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Jason Bright
19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Jonathon Webb
21 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Dale Wood
23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Dean Fiore
25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Jack Perkins
33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Chris Pither
34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Richard Muscat
35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Bryce Fullwood
55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert James Moffat
56 Racing Richie Stanaway Steve Owen
78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Alex Rullo
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Earl Bamber
99 Erebus Motorsport Anton De Pasquale Will Brown
230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Alex Davison
888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Steven Richards


Photo: Garry Rogers Motorsport