Friday, Jan 11 09:30am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Dixon and McLaughlin selected as Halberg Award finalists

Scott Dixon and Scott McLaughlin have been announced as finalists for the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Sportsman of the Year.


Now five-time IndyCar Series champion Dixon and last year’s Supercars Championship winner McLaughlin join skier Nico Porteous and shot putter Tom Walsh as finalists.


“It’s a significant day for New Zealand motorsport, having two motorsport competitors named as finalists in our country’s preeminent sporting awards,” MotorSport New Zealand President Wayne Christie said.


“We’re absolutely delighted for both Scotts to have their achievements in international motorsport recognised in this way,” says Christie.


“They are both exceptional competitors, and fantastic ambassadors for our sport at home and overseas.”


Dixon has previously won the Sportsman of the Year award in 2008 and 2013, and has also been a finalist in 2003, 2009 and 2015.


The Halberg Awards judges reviewed a record 93 nominations to find the finalists’ list, recognising achievements in 2018 up to 30 November.


The winners will be announced at the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards held on Thursday 21 February 2019 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT from 8.00pm


56th ISPS Handa Halberg Award Finalists


High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)


Joelle King (squash), Jonelle Price (equestrian), Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding). 


ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)


Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Scott Dixon (motorsport), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport), Tom Walsh (athletics)


ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Team of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)


Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing), Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Scott Martlew (Para canoe racing), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming). 


ISPS Handa Team of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)


All Blacks Sevens (rugby union), Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union), NZ Football Under 17 Women (football), NZ Women’s Kayaking Team (canoe racing), Vantage Black Sticks Women (hockey). 


Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year 


Allan Bunting (rugby union), Clark Laidlaw (rugby union), Gordon Walker (canoe racing), Joe Schmidt (rugby union), Leon Birnie (football).


Sky Sport Emerging Talent


Amelia Kerr (cricket), Anna Leat (football), Josh Armit (yachting), Lewis Clareburt (swimming), Maddison-Lee Wesche (athletics).