Saturday, Jan 12 01:50pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Hyman, Lawson promoted as Armstrong gets dropped

Raoul Hyman and Liam Lawson will start the first race of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series from the front row.


Initial pole sitter Marcus Armstrong had his pole sitting time taken from him after stewards found his time was set while yellow flags were displayed.


American driver Parker Locke crashed at Turn 20 late in the session while several drivers were on hot laps.


READ MORE: Toyota Racing Seires Qualifying report


Cameron Das was another driver demoted. He initially was fourth fastest but was dropped back down to seventh.


By the end of it all it was South African-born British-based driver Hyman who led the field for Giles Motorsport. M2 Competition young gun Liam Lawson was the lead Kiwi in second while Esteban Muth was third. Armstrong was fourth and Lucas Auer fifth. 


The 15 lap race - the first in the fifteen race championship - is scheduled to get underway at 1.55pm.


Castrol Toyota Racing Series, Round 1, Race 1 Grid


1 Raoul Hyman 
2 Liam Lawson
3 Esteban Muth

4 Marcus Armstrong*
5 Lucas Auer
6 Brendon Leitch 

7 Cameron Das *
8 Petr Ptacek 
9 Kazuto Kotaka
10 Calan Williams 
11 Artem Petrov 
12 Petru Florescu 
13 Dev Gore 

14 Parker Locke*

15 Thomas Smith*


* Denotes penalty