Tuesday, Feb 12 08:50pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Garry Jacobsen confirmation at Kelly Racing sets Supercars grid

All 24 spots on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship grid have been confirmed for the 2019 season.


The final seat to be filled at Kelly Racing was announced on Tuesday with the long awaited confirmation that 2016 Dunlop Super2 Series champion Garry Jacobsen would make the step up.


Jacobsen will be backed by, a former sponsor of Tickford Racing and Richie Stanaway. Kelly Racing confirmed the sponsorship deal was only signed last week.


Jacobsen has two years of PIRTEK Enduro Cup experience under his belt having driven with Jason Bright and Rick Kelly in 2017 and ‘18 respectively.


The 26-year-old joins Kelly, the ‘Swiss Miss’ Simona De Silvestro, and New Zealand’s own Andre Heimgartner in the Nissan squad.


“I’m absolutely thrilled that we’ve been able to piece this deal together,” Jacobsen sad.


“It’s been a tough summer, trying to stay focused while all the negotiations have been taking place between my management team,, other sponsors and the team.


“I can’t thank Rick and Todd Kelly and the entire Kelly Racing outfit enough for presenting this opportunity.


“For the team at to show continued faith in me and what I do on track and bring their Supercars support across to Kelly Racing to allow us to do this speaks volumes for their commitment to building a world class product and their personal loyalty.


“To work with Kelly Racing across last season’s enduros was absolutely fantastic and now that I have my name on a Nissan Altima and am confirmed as a full-time Virgin Australia Supercars Championship driver is incredible.


“Since I was a kid racing karts at Numurkah I dreamed of the day of turning up to Adelaide for the first round and now that day is upon us.


“This is a proud day also for Shepparton and the Goulburn Valley to finally have a full time Supercars driver from the region.


“With Winton [Motor Raceway] just down the road, the interest in the sport is strong in the region and as I’ve done since I started my racing career, I’m proud of where I’m from and have done everything I can to positively promote Shepparton, the Goulburn Valley and everything it has to offer.


“The test on Thursday will be fantastic to finally get in the car and settle in after the summer that has been, then straight after that we’ll be in Adelaide - I cannot wait!”


Pre-season testing gets underway at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in Melbourne later this week.


2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship grid set


With Jacobsen confirmed, the Supercars Championship grid is finalised. Drivers for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup are yet to be announced but will progressively be confirmed as the year progresses.


The biggest changes this year see Craig Lowdes retire and move into a co-driver role alongside Jamie Whincup. Mark Winterbottom will not drive a Ford for the first time in his 13 years on the grid. He joins Charlie Shwerkolt Racing’s Team 18 in a single-car effort.


Lee Holdsworth replaces Winterbottom at Tickford Racing who will drop from a four-car operation to jus three. Cameron Waters and Chaz Mostert will pair Holdsworth. 23 Red Racing, A Tickford Racing customer team, have retained Will Davison’s services.


Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin hold station at DJR Team Penske’s Shell V-Power Racing Team. Despite winning the Supercars Championship last year, McLaughlin will run the no.17 this year.


Walkinshaw Andretti United will field James Courtney and Scott Pye this year for the third straight season. Brad Jones Racing will also field an unchanged line-up with Nick Percat and Tim Slade.


It’s the status quo at Erebus Motorsport too who will run championship favourite David Reynolds and Anton de Pasquale.


Jack Le Brocq will contest his second full season with Tekno Autosports. Meanwhile, Macauley Jones will replace Tim Blanchard in the Brad Jones Racing-supported CoolDriver Racing entry.


Richie Stanaway moves from Tickford Racing to Garry Rogers Motorsport where he’ll join fellow young gun James Golding in Boost Mobile-backed cars. Stanaway replaces Garth Tander who will jin Shane van Gisbergen in the Enduro Cup.


Todd Hazelwood stays with Matt Stone Racing, but will this year move from the Holden Commofore VF to the ex-Jamie Whincup ZB.


Red Bull Holden Racing Team retain two of the biggest names in the business, Whincup and van Gisbergen.


Rick Kelly, Simona De Silvestro, Andre Heimgartner and Jacobsen compelte the field for Kelly Racing in their four-car Nissan Altima L33 squad. Michael Caruso leaves Kelly Racing after six years with the team. He'll join Tickford Racing in the Enduro Cup.


2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship entries


Entrant No.  Driver Co-driver
Tickford Racing 5 Australia Lee Holdsworth Flag of None.svg TBA
6 Australia Cameron Waters Australia Michael Caruso
55 Australia Chaz Mostert Australia James Moffat
DJR Team Penske 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Australia Tony D'Alberto
17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin France Alexandre Prémat  
23Red Racing 23 Australia Will Davison Flag of None.svg TBA
Walkinshaw Andretti United 2 Australia Scott Pye Australia Warren Luff
22 Australia James Courtney Australia Jack Perkins
Brad Jones Racing 8 Australia Nick Percat Flag of None.svg TBA
14 Australia Tim Slade Flag of None.svg TBA
Erebus Motorsport 9 Australia David Reynolds Australia Luke Youlden
99 Australia Anton de Pasquale Australia Will Brown
Charlie Schwerkolt Racing 18 Australia Mark Winterbottom New Zealand Steven Richards
Tekno Autosports 19 Australia Jack Le Brocq Flag of None.svg TBA
Tim Blanchard Racing 21 Australia Macauley Jones Flag of None.svg TBA
Garry Rogers Motorsport 33 New Zealand Richie Stanaway Flag of None.svg TBA
34 Australia James Golding Flag of None.svg TBA
Matt Stone Racing 35 Australia Todd Hazelwood Flag of None.svg TBA
Triple Eight Race Engineering    88 Australia Jamie Whincup Australia Craig Lowndes
97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen    Australia Garth Tander
Kelly Racing 3 Australia Garry Jacobson Flag of None.svg TBA
7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Flag of None.svg TBA
15 Australia Rick Kelly Flag of None.svg TBA
78 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro Flag of None.svg TBA