Saturday, Mar 16 03:22pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Scott McLaughlin wins 1000th race of Supercars Championship

Shell V-Power Racing driver Scott McLaughlin has continued his winning ways this year with his fourth straight win of the season, making history in the process.


The Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 played host to the 1000th race in Virgin Australia Supercars Championship history, which was dominated by the Ford contingent.  


After dominating Friday’s 25-lap affair, McLaughlin once again showed his prowess to win convincingly in the 13-lap dash. It's the first time a driver has won the first four races since Jamie Whincup did so in 2010. 


“Overall I’m really happy, the team did a great job,” McLaughlin said.


“I feel like I executed well and hit my marks and controlled the gap to the end. I’m careful with my left front. It’s hard around here, you don’t want to pop them.


“I had a nice gap there where I could just bring it home. There’s probably a little bit more in it, Chaz [Mostert] is pretty fast, those boys are pretty quick so we’ll see how we go.”


Once again it was an all-Ford Mustang front row with McLaughlin at the fore alongside Tickford Racing ace Chaz Mostert. His teammate Cameron Waters got a stellar start to get up to second from fourth on the grid. Mostert, however, didn’t get the best start and fell to fourth.


At the end of lap one it was McLaughlin who led Waters. Jamie Whincup, Mostert and Fabian Coulthard rounded out the top five. Will Davison, David Reynolds, Tim Slade, James Courtney and Mark Winterbottom completed the top 10.


There was nearly drama as James Golding covered Andre Heimgartner down the front straight. Heimgartner clobbered the back of Golding who followed him across the road. Golding nearly ended up in the wall, but both managed to escape relatively unscathed. Golding was given a five-second post-race penalty for the incident.


Todd Hazelwood and Richie Stanaway made big moves on the opening lap to go up five places each. They sat 14th and 15th in the order with one lap down.


Mostert displaced Whincup and moved up to third on lap four. A daring dive at Turn 13 by Mostert paid off and Whincup fell into the clutches of Coulthard.


The final stanza of the race was relatively uneventful. McLaughlin cruised home to win by nearly four seconds with the Tickford Racing duo Mostert and Waters adrift in second and third. The fourth win takes him to 450 points in the title race.


Race 5 of the season gets underway at 8:30pm NZST on Saturday, which will last 25 laps.


Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 Race 4


Pos   Driver Laps/Diff
1 Scott McLaughlin 13 laps
2 Chaz Mostert +2.5219
3 Cameron Waters +6.4096
4 Jamie Whincup +7.3124
5 Fabian Coulthard +10.8209
6 Will Davison +11.3897
7 David Reynolds +13.1682
8 Tim Slade  +13.8689
9 James Courtney +17.2096
10 Shane van Gisbergen   +17.4055
11 Mark Winterbottom +18.5849
12 Lee Holdsworth +21.5580
13 Anton de Pasquale +23.5424
14 Scott Pye +24.0966
15 Nick Percat +24.7191
16 Rick Kelly +25.6755
17 Todd Hazelwood +28.8461
18 Andre Heimgartner +29.7107
19 Richie Stanaway  +35.2392
20 Simona De Silvestro +35.6766
21 Jack Le Brocq +37.5125
22 Macauley Jones +41.0450
23 James Golding +41.6083
24 Garry Jacobson +43.1069