Nick Cassidy second in Zandvoort opener, as Stroll wins again

New Zealander Nick Cassidy has opened round six of the FIA European Formula 3 championship at Circuit Park Zandvoort in the Netherlands with a second-place finish behind teammate Lance Stroll. Having taken his maiden pole-position in the championship, Cassidy was unable to hang with Stroll — ultimately finishing eight seconds adrift of the leader.


Starting with his car angled to turn one's apex, Cassidy beat fellow front-row starting teammate Maximillian Günther — only for both drivers to be trumped fellow Prema Powerteam driver Lance Stroll, who took the lead exiting turn one.

Stroll, like Cassidy a former Toyota Racing Series champ and the current F3 series leader, had a quick start, and profited from a cleaner start than his battling main rivals Cassidy and Günther. Stroll immediately cleared out, opening up a 1.3-second margin over Cassidy after lap one. Günther slipped back to fourth, behind Alessio Lorandi and ahead of another TRS graduate; Callum Ilott.

Six laps into the race, Stroll's lead was almost four-seconds long over Cassidy. The Kiwi however looked to have the measure of Lorandi behind him. Lorandi and his Carlin Motorsport entry were also enjoying relative comfort — he, Cassidy, and the dominant Stroll all enduring relatively quiet races to finish third, second, and first at the end of the race. 

The main battle of the race was the one for fourth between Günther, Ilott, and Niko Kari. The three cars all shared comparative aggressive supremacy as the race went on; each taking turns to snap at the other's heels as the gaps between them ebbed and flowed.

Günther looked vulnerable to Ilott initially, but then errors from Ilott dropped him back into the clutches of Kari. A large lock-up from Günther helped prompt a nail-biting final lap fight between the driver and Ilott. But ultimately, the three drivers held onto fourth (Günther), fifth (Ilott), and sixth (Kari) respectively.


Cassidy holds fifth place in the series standings, while Stroll continues to increase his championship lead. The 


Photo: FIA European Formula 3 



1. Lance Stroll
2. Nick Cassidy
3. Alession Lorandi 
4. Maximillian Günther

5. Callum Ilott
6. Niko Kari
7. George Russell
8. Ryan Tveter
9. Anthoine Hebert
10. David Beckman