Nick Cassidy completes stellar Zandvoort weekend with another podium

Kiwi Nick Cassidy has rounded out a successful weekend in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship by finishing second in the category's third and final race at Zandvoort in the Netherlands. The results see him rise to fourth in the championship standings.


“I am happy with this weekend and I am also happy with this race. I started from second place and finished in the same position, so I can’t complain,” said Cassidy.


Cassidy's Prema Powerteam teammate Maximilian Günther took a dominant victory, completing a clean sweep of the weekend's races for the squad after leading driver Lance Stroll and Cassidy won races one and two. 


The race for the top three positions was largely straightforward. Günther won the start from pole position, leaving Cassidy to file in behind him, and 16-year-old series rookie David Beckman in third. Those three drivers would remain in those positions for the duration of the race, with Günther ultimately taking the win by 1.2 seconds 23 laps later. 


“At Zandvoort, the start is the key to victory, I already knew that beforehand,”said Günther post race. 


“My start was good and I was in the lead going into the first corner. After that, I drove consistent lap times, I didn’t make any mistakes and also tried to save my tyres in the process. When Nick slightly closed up, I was able to increase my speed. I was in control of the race.”


The most interesting battle of the race was the one for the minor placings on the edge of the top 10; a dice that included former Toyota Racing Series drivers Pedro Piquet and Ryan Tveter, as well as Niko Kari and Mikkel Jensen. Kari led the train for much of the race, forced to withstand the combined pressures of the trio behind him. In the end he was successful, coming home 11th. 


Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship




1. Maximilian Günther
2. Nick Cassidy
3. David Beckman
4. Alessio Lorandi
5. George Russell

6. Callum Ilott

7. Joel Eriksson

8. Ralf Aron

9. Ben Barnicoat

10. Anthoine Hubert