Sunday, Oct 20 01:40pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Confirmed: McLaughlin keeps Bathurst 1000 win, Coulthard and DJRTP penalized

Scott McLaughlin and Alex Prémat have kept their Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 victory following a CAMS inquiry.


Several changes have been made to the final result of the race. It comes after an investigation from Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) on Saturday into the Lap 135 incident involving Fabian Coulthard and DJR Team Penske.


The inquiry was launched to determine whether the alleged team orders breach affected the result of the race.


It is understood DJR Team Penske has been handed a 300-point penalty in the Teams’ Championship as a result of the inquiry. The 300 points is equal to the amount won by McLaughlin and Premat in the race. 


The race result has been amended as well, which now sees Fabian Coulthard and Tony D’Alberto relegated to 21st in the final finishing order – making them the last classified finisher in the race.


AUDIO: DJR Team Penske tell Fabian Coulthard to slow down


Coulthard and D’Alberto initially finished sixth in the race. As a result, Mark Winterbottom and Steven Richards take their place in the final finishing order.


Instead of earning 204 points, Coulthard has only added 84 points to his account. Coulthard has subsequently fallen from third in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship standings to fourth behind Chaz Mostert.


Details of any possible fines to DJR Team Penske have not yet been confirmed. A full statement is expected to follow from CAMS today. 


CLICK HERE to see the amended result


CLICK HERE to see the Teams and Drivers' Championship points