Friday, Feb 21 09:18pm
AUTHOR: Zane Shackleton

Mostert heads final practice session in Adelaide

Chaz Mostert has topped the final practice session of the day from the Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit.

On his first outing for Walkinshaw Andretti United, Mostert set a blinding time with a 1.19.2412 to comfortably head the final session of the day.

Mostert has enjoyed a largely competitive weekend so far, constantly finishing each practice session as one of the fastest Commodore’s.

“The car felt pretty hooked up and there wasn’t much left,” Mostert said after his lap.

“We still feel like we are a little bit behind the eight ball but it is a good reward for all the boys who worked hard over the offseason.”

The 30-minute session was defined by its role of sorting out the grid for Armour All qualifying tomorrow morning with the top ten in the session being promoted straight through to Q2.

It was Scott McLaughlin who was immediately on the pace from the green flag. The defending champion set a blistering 1.19.5240 to head the field nearly four-tenths.

Both Red Bull Holden Racing drivers failed to deliver a competitive session. After a strong outing in the day’s earlier practice, both Whincup and Van Gisbergen finished sixth and ninth respectively.

Team Sydney’s James Courtney suffered a Turn 8 bruise late in the session, joining a growing list of victims to have scrapped the infamous bend’s outside wall.

The final five minutes saw most of the field running on fresh green rubber.

David Reynolds improved his lap time to pip Mostert for second, though McLaughlin seemingly had the gap over the field.

That was all until Mostert set the timing screens alight, executing a perfect lap much to the delight of the WAU garage.

A notable omission from the top ten was Fabian Coulthard. The DJR Team Penske driver struggled to emulate the time set by his teammate, ultimately settling for 13th.


Armour All Qualifying for race one of the Virgin Australia Supercars gets underway from 2.25 pm NZT.

Practice 3 Top Ten
1. Chaz Mostert
2. Scott McLaughlin
3. Will Davison
4. Mark Winterbottom
5. Anton De Pasquale
6. Jamie Whincup
7. David Reynolds
8. Cameron Waters
9. Shane Van Gisbergen
10. Nick Percat


Photo Credit: gladstoneobserver