Thursday, Sep 12 08:38am
Velocity News

No holding back in non-championshp BNT V8s season opener

The gloves are off and almost anything goes this weekend in the BNT V8s at Pukekohe Park.


As a curtain raiser to the 2019-’20 BNT V8s Season, this weekend will see the series conduct as a non-championship round at the ITM Auckland SuperSprint with their six-round championship getting underway at Pukekohe Park in November.


With it being a non-championship round, a number of cars will be cranking up the horsepower on their engines for bragging rights, while others will stay within their championship performance parity engine tune.


Look for championship regulars such as Nick Ross in his Nissan Altima, and Lance Hughes in his Holden Commodore. Hughes has unleashed his Holden Commodore with 630hp now under the bonnet. They’ll be joined by the Holden Commodore of Matt Tubbs too.


Also look for Brad Lathrope in his Ford Falcon alongside the ex-Greg Murphy Holden Commodore now in the hands of Rob Wallace. South Island youngster Brayden Phillips will compete in his newly acquired Ford Falcon, previously campaigned by Craig Baird in the V8 SuperTourers.


John Midgley will line up in the ex-Shane van Gisbergen Ford Falcon with Eric Hennephof lining up in his Holden Commodore.


Former Champion Simon Evans will make a return for this non-championship event in his highly modified Holden. The Wet and Forget-backed Holden Commodore VF boasting now 750+ HP, paddle shift, traction control and ABS.


Also look for a couple of fast Holden’s in the hands of Tim Edgell and Nick Chester.


Two-time World Touring Car Cup champion Paul Radisich will line-up in the Collins Motorsport Ford Mustang GT-X now powered by an 800-900hp Roush Yates FR9 NASCAR engine. He will certainly be one to watch.


Rounding out the field will be the Ford Falcon pair of Nigel Karl and Darryl Clarke with the BMW E46 of Shaun Varney.


The BNT V8s will run three 16-lap races over the weekend. Qualifying and Race 1 will take place on Saturday with Race 2 and Race 3 on Sunday. 


BNT V8s Entry List, Round 0 (Non-Championship)


Driver Car
Simon Evans Holden Commodore VF V8 SuperTourer
Nick Ross Nissan Altima L33 TLX
Tim Edgell Holden Commodore VE V8 SuperTourer
Nick Chester Holden Commodore VZ V8 Supercar
John Midgley Ford Falcon FG V8 Supertourer
Matt Tubbs Ford Falcon FG V8 Supertourer
Brayden Phillips Ford Falcon FG V8 SuperTourer
Rob Wallace Holden Commodore VE V8 SuperTourer
Darryl Clarke Ford Falcon BF TL
Eric Hennephof Holden Commodore VE V8 SuperTourer
Brad Lathrope Ford Falcon FG V8 SuperTourer
Paul Radisich Ford Mustang GT-X
Lance Hughes Holden Commodore VE TLX
Shaun Varney BMW 318
Nigel Karl Ford Falcon BF TL