Friday, Jan 17 05:35pm
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Scott McLaughlin finalist for Halberg Awards people’s choice

Scott McLaughlin’s Bathurst 1000 win has been included as a finalist for Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year in this year’s Halberg Awards.


The two-time Virgin Australia Supercars Championship winner is already a finalist for the Sportsman of the Year alongside Kane Williamson, Tom Walsh and Israel Adesanya.


Among the finalists are Zoi Sadowski-Synnott who won New Zealand’s first ever snowboard FIS World Championships gold medal.


Lisa Adams broke the world record to win the shot put gold at World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai. The Silver Ferns win in the Netball World Cup is also a finalist.


The Blackcaps have got a double nomination of sorts. Martin Guptill’s throw to run out M.S Dhoni, getting NewZealand into the Cricket World Cup final. The infamous Blackcaps Super Over against England in the Cricket World Cup final also features.


The Women’s Eight winning gold at the World Rowing Championships, Israel Adesanya winning UFC Middleweight title, Alice Robinson winning the World Cup season opening giant slalom race and TJ Perenara’s try against Namibia in Rugby World Cup are featured.


The New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment winner will be announced at the 57th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony on Thursday 13 February 2020 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live free to air on Prime TV and on SKY SPORT the broadcast will include closed captioning.


How to vote:


Voting is now open for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year award.  You can vote once a day from now until 9.00pm on Thursday 13 February 2020, vote either online or by text.

  1. Online

Vote at

  1. TXT

Text your Sporting Moment’s unique code to 556 (standard txt charges apply):


Txt SM1 to 556to vote for Zoi Sadowski-Synnott

Txt SM2 to 556to vote for Lisa Adams

Txt SM3 to 556 to vote for Silver Ferns

Txt SM4 to 556 to vote for Martin Guptill

Txt SM5 to 556 to vote for The BLACKCAPS

Txt SM6 to 556 to vote for Women’s Rowing 8

Txt SM7 to 556 to vote for Israel Adesanya

Txt SM8 to 556 to vote for Scott McLaughlin

Txt SM9 to 556 to vote for Alice Robinson

Txt SM10 to 556 to vote forTJ Perenara