Tuesday, Jan 14 11:36am
AUTHOR: Simon Chapman

Scott McLaughlin named Halberg Awards Sportsman of the Year finalist

Two-time Virgin Australia Supercars Championship winner Scott McLaughlin has been announced as a finalist in this year’s 57th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.


McLaughlin joins MMA fighter Israel Adesanya, Blackcaps captain Kane Williamson and shot put medalist Tom Walsh as ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year finalists. The winner in Sportsman of the Year will also be eligible for the supreme Halberg Award.


McLaughlin made history in 2019 with DJR Team Penske, winning an unrivalled 18 races, which included a prestigious Bathurst 1000 win.


The 26-year-old moved into sixth on the all-time race winners list and second overall for most pole positions.


Among his achievements last year were the Fans’ Favourite awards and Driver’s Driver at the annual Virgin Australia Supercars Championship end of year Gala Awards.


“It’s fantastic to have another kiwi recognised for their motorsport achievements,” MotorSport New Zealand CEO, Simon Baker said.


“Scott is one of New Zealand’s biggest talents, his success in the Supercars during the 2019 season is absolutely unheard off, to win the championship, Bathurst and break the record for the most wins in a season ever is exceptional.


“We wish him all the best for the awards, we certainly believe he has all the right credentials for taking out the award.”


The annual Halberg Awards event takes place on February 13th at Spark Arena in Auckland with free to air coverage on Prime TV. 


57th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards finalists:


ISPS Handa Team of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)

Black Ferns Sevens (rugby)

BLACKCAPS (cricket)

Silver Ferns (netball)

Women’s Eight (rowing)

Women’s Double - Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue– (rowing)


ISPS Handa Para athlete/team of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)

Cameron Leslie (Para swimming, wheelchair rugby)

Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen (Para cycling)

Lisa Adams (Para athletics)

Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)


High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)

Courtney Duncan (motorcycling)

Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Laura Langman (netball)

Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding)


ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)

Israel Adesanya (mixed martial arts)

Kane Williamson (cricket)

Scott McLaughlin (motorsport)

Tom Walsh (athletics)


Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year

Eugene Bareman (mixed martial arts)

Gary Hay (rowing)

Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Noeline Taurua (netball)

Roly Crichton (Para swimming)


Sky Sport Emerging Talent

Alice Robinson (ski racing)

Erika Fairweather (swimming)

Laurence Pithie (cycling)

Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan (yachting)