Tom Blomqvist takes narrow second place at the Norisring

BMW's Tom Blomqvist claimed second overnight at the DTM's second race at the Norisring — unable to convert his pole position into victory after losing the lead during the pit cycle.


Blomqvist won the start, and controlled a large portion of the race with his Ice Watch BMW. Behind him, Audi's Nico Muller appeared to be the only driver capable of mounting a challenge, having jostled his way into second on the first lap ahead of Paul di Resta, Mattias Ekstrom, and Lucas Auer. Minor contact between Ekstrom and Auer created debris on the circuit, and retired Ekstrom; promoting Maxime Martin into the top five and creating an early caution flag.


While several of the other runners in the top 10 pitted early, Blomqvist and Muller sat out a bit longer. The Kiwi was the first to pit, resuming in the provisional lead. But, pitting nine laps later, Muller was able to snatch the lead.


After accumulating a two-second lead over Blomqvist, Muller surrendered it during a late-race caution in the final minutes for debris. The development could have given Blomqvist an opportunity to take back the lead, but any chance of a late pass were thwarted by a perfect race restart from Muller. 


From there, the order between the two would remain — Muller taking his first win of the season, and Blomqvist taking his second second-place finish of the season.


Maxime Martin made it a BMW 2–3, having finished third. di Resta and Auer rounded out the top five.


Blomqvist's podium placing sees him improve to eighth in the 2016 DTM standings with five rounds remaining in the championship — the next of which takes place at Zandvoort on July 16–17.


Photo: BMW Motorsport




1. Nico Muller

2. Tom Blomqvist

3. Maxime Martin

4. Paul di Resta

5. Lucas Auer

6. Marco Wittman

7. Bruno Spengler

8. Edoardo Mortara

9. Timo Glock

10. Martin Tomczyk